Skip to content

Buncombe County Democratic Voter Guide 2012

October 15, 2012

Click here to download a one-page copy of the information below and take it with you to the polls.  These are the people to vote for if you care about education, a strong economy, affordable healthcare, women’s rights, the environment, fairness, responsibility, science, puppy dogs and apple pie. Early voting starts Oct. 18.  Click the icon above to find your precinct number. The list comes from the Buncombe County Democratic Party.  If you want to vote a straight Democratic ticket, you will still have to vote for Obama separately as well as non-partisan races. I will put the non-partisan races at the end of this list:

President–  Barack Obama

NOTE:  “In North Carolina, voting ‘straight party’ (using the term from an NC ballot) does not include a vote for the President and Vice President of the United States. North Carolina voters therefore must make separate selections for the President/Vice President and the straight-party option.”

Buncombe County Commission/Deeds

County Commission Chair —David Gantt

County Commission, District 1 (State House 114)
Holly Jones and Brownie Newman

County Commission, District 2 (State House 115)
Ellen Frost  and Carol Peterson

County Commission, District 3 (State House 116)
Terry Van Duyn and Michelle Pace Wood

Register of Deeds  Drew Reisinger

North Carolina General Assembly

State House District 114 Susan Fisher
State House District 115
Susan E. Wilson
State House District 116 Jane Whilden

State Senate District 49 Martin Nesbitt


U.S. House District 10Patsy Keever
U.S. House District 11
Hayden Rogers
(Even if you’re progressive, vote Rogers! The alternative is super-scary.)

State Offices

GovernorWalter Dalton
Lt. GovernorLinda Coleman
N.C. Attorney GeneralRoy Cooper
Secretary Of StateElaine Marshall
State TreasurerJanet Cowell
N.C. Insurance CommissionerWayne Goodwin
N.C. State SuperintendentJune Atkinson
N.C. State AuditorBeth Wood
Labor CommissionerJohn C. Brooks
Agriculture CommissionerWalter Smith


Buncombe School Board
(Your other choices are aligned with the Tea Bag party.

Dusty Pless, At-large Representative
Chip Craig, Owen District Representative
Steve Sizemore, Roberson Dristrict Representative
Ann Franklin, North Buncombe District Representative

For more info on these school board members please visit this website.

Judicial Races

North Carolina Supreme CourtJudge Sam J. Ervin IV
Court of Appeals (Thigpen seat)Judge Cressie Thigpen
Court of Appeals (McGee seat)Judge Linda M. McGee
Court of Appeals (Bryant seat)Judge Wanda Bryant

Soil and Water Conservation Supervisor– James H. Coman

CITY VOTERS, Referendum: Vote NO to state takeover of our water system!


From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.